Faculty, staff, & board

Current instructors (2023/2024)

Andrea Crossan is an award-winning journalist and educator. She’s reported in the U.S. and U.K. for a number of news organizations, including the BBC World Service, CBC, Associated Press, and NBC News. As a radio journalist, she produced and reported stories on gender rights around the globe, including traveling to Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Uganda, South Africa, Pakistan, India, Brazil, and Kenya.

Crossan is the executive director of the Global Reporting Centre (GRC). She grew up in North Vancouver and is a proud member of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation. In 2022, she was part of the production team for the CBC Vancouver’s award-winning podcast, Land Back, focusing on Indigenous land dispossession and reclamation. Crossan was also a 2022/2023 Asper Visiting Professor at UBC where she co-taught the Global Reporting Program, travelling with a cohort of fellows on a reporting trip to Cambodia.

Britney Dennison is the executive editor of the Global Reporting Centre (GRC). She has been with the School of Journalism, Writing, and Media since 2014, and with the GRC since its inception in 2016. Her work has won several awards including five Edward R. Murrow awards, an Online Journalism award, and a Canadian Association of Journalists award.

Her work has appeared in major media outlets, including NBC News, PBS NewsHour, Mother Jones, the PBS series FRONTLINE, the Toronto Star and more. Dennison is a sessional instructor for the Global Reporting Program where she has lead student fieldwork in a number of countries, including Cambodia, Peru, and Norway. Her work focuses on multi-media journalism, including video production, digital design, photography, and feature writing. Her work also specializes in community-engaged reporting. She produced the award-winning video series, Turning Points, for PBS NewsHour, which piloted the Centre’s new approach to reporting called ‘empowerment journalism.’

Peter Klein (on leave) is the director of the Global Reporting Program and an associate professor and former director of the UBC School of Journalism. He was a producer with CBS News 60 Minutes, and has produced projects for many of the major American news programs, including Frontline, Nightline, 20/20 and 48 Hours. He has written for The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor and other newspapers. Peter has won 3 Emmys, 2 Sigma Delta Chis, numerous Edward R. Murrow, Online Journalism Award, Webby honors and several other top journalism awards.

Past guest speakers

Olívia Zauli Fellows is a Brazilian journalist and producer based out of Vancouver, British Columbia

Anna Maria Tremonti was the founding host of CBC Radio’s flagship current affairs program The Current. Her latest podcast is Welcome to Paradise.

Philippe LeBillon is a Professor of Geography at University of British Columbia

Zoe Tabary is the Property Rights Editor at Thomson Reuters Foundation

Susie Saliola is the Education and Research Analyst at Esri Canada

Anusuya Datta is a journalist with special interest in satellite-guided journalism

Nate Halverson is an Emmy Award-winning producer for Reveal/Center for Investigative Reporting

Naomi Klein is an award-winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author of seven books. She is Senior Correspondent for The Intercept

Toby McIntosh is a senior advisor for the Global Investigative Journalism Network’s Resource Center

Brian Jacobs is Senior Graphics Editor at National Geographic

Evan Thornberry is the GIS Librarian at the University of British Columbia Library

Jennifer LeFleur is the data editor at the Investigative Reporting Workshop at the School of Communication at American University

André Picard is a health reporter and columnist for The Globe and Mail

Past instructors

Kathryn Gretsinger, University of British Columbia

Dan McKinney, University of British Columbia

Bathseba Opini, University of British Columbia

Simon Donnor, University of British Columbia

Jiawen Zheng, Nanjing University

Kwabena Koranteng, Investigative journalist in Uganda

Wen Nainan, Nanjing University

Maria Paula Martinez Concha, Universidad de los Andes

Claire Ward, Vice News

Videsh Kapoor, University of British Columbia

Shayla Harris, Documentary filmmaker

Sarah Carter, CBS News

Trisha Doyle, Investigative journalist

Mikko Villi, University of Jyväskylä

Cynthia SohYoung Yoo, Kyung Hee University

Farah Nosh, Award-winning photojournalist

Saranaz Barforoush, University of British Columbia

Muna Khan, Centre for the Excellence in Journalism

Fred Kakooza, Makerere University

Dave Rummel, University of British Columbia

Kim Frank, Video editor

Sebastián Salamanca, Colombian lawyer and journalist

Meera Krishnamoorthy, Citizen Matters

Taylor Owen, University of British Columbia

Peter Herford, Shantou University

Patrick Pennefather, Centre for Digital Media

Alexander Altunyan, The International University in Moscow

Turo Uskali, University of Jyväskylä

Advisory board

Alison Lawton (Honourary Chair)

Muna Khan

Philippe le Billon

Sebastián Salamanca

Videsh Kapoor

Stuart Sutton-Jones

Melissa Chan

Kamal Al-Solaylee

Peter Klein